Johns Creek City Council

City Council of Johns Creek is composed of the Mayor and six (6) Council members vested with the legislative authority of the city's municipal government.

As the legislative branch, the City Council is primarily responsible for making laws, which govern the City of Johns Creek and proposes, debates, and votes on legislation governing and/or affecting the city.

The City Council also regulates revenues and expenditures, incurs debt and approves the final operating and capital budgets for the city.

Council members are elected to Posts 1-6, which are not geographically designated as districts traditionally are. Therefore, each Johns Creek Council member represents the city at-large.

Each Council member serves a term of 4 years.

Post 1, Post 3 and Post 5, term is 2022 to 2025

Post 2, Post 4 and Post 6, term is 2020 to 2023

Mayor term is 2022 to 2025

Council Functions

As local legislators, councilmembers are responsible for and responsive to the citizens who elected them.

  • Review and approve the annual budget
  • Establish long- and short-term objectives and priorities
  • Oversee performance of the local public employees
  • Oversee effectiveness of programs
  • Establish tax rates
  • Enter into legal contracts
  • Borrow funds
  • Pass ordinances and resolutions
  • Modify the city’s charter
  • Regulate land use through zoning laws
  • Regulate business activity through licensing and regulations
  • Regulate public health and safety
  • Exercise the power of eminent domain
  • Communicate policies and programs to residents
  • Respond to constituent needs and complaints; and
  • Represent the community to other levels of government.